First, I would like to sincerely thank each and everyone of you for your support. We are a day short of being a month old and we have had about 1,500 hits. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back again.

I am very aware that the only thing constant in this world is “change,”…. since I am moving to New York in exactly two weeks it is starting to hit me. For one, I have never really been away from my family or my dogs, I am getting a room mate for the first time in my life, New york is REALLY cold and I don’t do cold weather, I am starting a new school, and preparing for marriage.

Above all though, there are two main things that will be hard to wrap my head around.

1. I have to leave my church :(. For a brief moment, I thought about deferring my acceptance into Columbia just to stay in my church a little longer. After I realized that I would have to leave regardless, I just gave up on that whole idea. It is very important to have a church home that you are dedicated to,,,,(allow me to digress a little)

I had this conversation with one of my teachers at church yesterday and it really opened my eyes, and I hope it gives you some form of insight also. And if you don’t necessarily agree, please share your perspective.
“I think it is time for us to reevaluate our friendships. Think about the people that are around you that you consider your friends, do you have the same values as these individuals.  Do they add to your value or are they devaluing you?
Think of this analogy that my friend Rebecca Savoy told me..”You cannot go to the bank and keep withdrawing money. One day you will eventually have to make a  deposit. ” Which means that friendship is not one sided.  Both parties should be able to give and take.

As a friend, can you handle the truth, and can you dish out the truth. Are you one to tell your girls ” girl, its OK everyone does it”,  or “you should not have done that.”

Personally, I know that I am wonderfully and fearfully made, and I am on earth to represent my father in heaven. This includes striving to follow all of the guideline outlined in the Bible and  allowing God to use me in anyway he pleases. So, this means that I have to surround my self with like minded people. If  someone is not adding to my life, I believe that they are taking away from it. And I would rather let go of  a “friend” than compromise my relation with the author and finisher of my faith.

Just thought I’d share 🙂 Lets reevaluate our friendships and relationships.

2. Moving to New York starts my transition to becoming married. After my first year in school, I will be married. That means  I wont be moving back home to live anymore, so I have to say my proper goodbyes in two weeks.

I will be sure to keep you all posted with pictures and all on the transition!

Cheers

Dami

lol....The first picture we ever took!

lol….The first picture we ever took!

